Homelands and the NT Governments 'Outstations' Policy

On the 17th September 2007 a Memorandum of Understanding between the Australian Government and the Norhern Territory Government: Indigenous Housing, Accomodation and Related Services was signed. This MUO provides funding for housing, NTER (Emergency Response), SIA (Strategic Intervention Agreement), and other projects only to the large centralised communities. Of significance is the requirement for the Territory government 'to take over responsibility for the delivery of services to outstations' while at the same time providing no funding for the delivery of any services homelands.

On the 13th October 2008 Marion Scrymgour, the NT government's Minister for Indigenous Policy released a Discussion Paper into Homelands (also referred to as outstations).

Submissions by 1st December 2008.

Information about the process from the NT government (pdf files)

NT Government: Outstations Policy Questions and Answers

NT Government Media Release: 13/10/2008: Towards a New Outstations Policy

Community Engagement Meetings: Schedule of Visits

Below are submissions sent to: Outstations Policy, The Office of Indigenous Policy, Department of Chief Minister (pdf files)

Submission to the NTG Homelands.Outstation Inquiry: The Hon Warren Snowdon, Federal member for Lingiari

Submission to the NTG Outstations Policy from Ernie Mitchell

Submission to the Northern Territory Government Outstations Policy
Discussion Paper Australians for Native Title and Reconciliation (ANTAR)

Submission to Homelands/Outstations Inquiry: Dr Paul Burgess & Dr Geoff Stewart

Submission to Homelands/Outstations Inquiry: Gregory Marks

Centre for Aboriginal Economic Policy Research: Why the Northern Territorerritory Government needs to support outstations/homelands in the Aboriginal, Northern Territory and National interest
J.C Altman, S. Kerins, B. Fogarty & K. Webb CAEPR Topical Issue No. 17/2008

Aboriginal Medical Services Alliance Northern Territory
Submission to the NTG Homelands/Outstation Policy Inquiry: AMSANT

Laynhapuy Homelands Association Incorporated
Submission to the NTG Outstation/Homelands Inquiry: Laynhapuy HRA

Mabunji Aboriginal Resource Association Incorporated
Submission to the NTG Homelands/Outstation Inquiry: Mabunji ARA

Submission to the NTG Homelands/Outstations Inquiry: John Greatorex and Harvey Creswell

Submission to the NTG Homelands/Outstation Inquiry: Mary Rudd

Please contact John Greatorex for comments relating to the ICS.